Post-Vacation of '22

Posted on: 07/31/2022

Hi!... It's been a while, hasn't it? Let's catch you up to speed.

After working tirelessly on this website like it was going to die if I wasn't constantly monitoring it, I went on vacation! And while I was on vacation enjoying myself at Michigan's alewife corpse-littered beaches and shopping in Luddington and Traverse City, I completely forgot about this website. As you do. Instead, I revoked my promise to NOT participate in ArtFight this year and... participated in ArtFight.

Surprisingly, this worked out pretty well for me. I believe I tripled my attack total from the last two years I did AF, which was great news (albeit not a hard score to beat, the last two times I did AF I was depressed as hell so I only managed ~8-9 attacks, cumulatively). In that time I believe I have made incredible strides in my artistic skill, and I owe it all to pretty women.

Why am I mentioning this? Well, I want to work on my commissions page, which I'll host as part of this website. Previously I've had it up on Carrd, but... yeah, it's Carrd. Now that I've netted a job that will have me working evenings on Wednesdays, Thursdays, and Fridays (and that's it!!) I'll have more time to devote to commission work, personal projects, and, of course, this website. I need to make this work. I need to "finish" it.

I have a tendency to abandon things halfway. Most of the time, I don't really want to. I think it's because I stop finding things "fun" after a while. While it is entirely valid to do this with entirely individual pursuits, I tend to drop projects that other people are working on too, and since I have this great habit of being the most creative and epic person in the room, generally the ship sinks when I jump off of it. This isn't great!

I want to prove to myself that this isn't the fate of everything I touch, you know?

So that's the state of things, as of right now. When September hits, I'm going to try harder to furnish this site with everything I want to put onto it. For now, I have other projects to work on, like my portfolio. There's a cowboy-themed One Piece zine I want to apply to, but in order to get there, I need to draw more fanart. Now that I'm actually caught up on the series, there shouldn't be any mental blocks holding me back, right?

Ahhh, I hope so.

P.S. Here's a nice picture I took on vacation.